Licensure Information - Respiratory Care

SCC's Respiratory Care program was created to meet the need for respiratory care professionals locally and in the surrounding communities.

The Southeastern Community College Respiratory Care Program, CoARC #200462, located in West Burlington, Iowa offers and Associate of Applied Science Degree and is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (

The Iowa Board of Respiratory Care and Polysomnography evaluates the qualifications of applicants for licensure and grants licenses to those who qualify. The Board establishes rules and regulations to ensure the integrity and competence of licensed respiratory care practitioners and investigates complaints for unprofessional conduct. The Board is the link between the consumer and the licensed respiratory care practitioner and, as such, promotes the public health, welfare, and safety. Licensees are responsible for meeting all licensure requirement and should review the rules carefully and frequently.

Programmatic Accreditation: The Associate of Applied Science in Respiratory Care program (200462) is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC)

National Credentialing

Upon successful completion of the CoARC approved  A.A.S. Respiratory Care program, students are eligible to apply for the credentialing exams offered by the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC). Successful candidates earn the Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) credential.

State Licensure

SCC makes every effort to verify the information provided on requirements for licensure is accurate and up-to-date, however, these requirements are subject to change at any time. Students who will be seeking licensure are strongly encouraged to review the licensure or certification requirements at the appropriate website, linked below where available, for the state in which they intend to practice.

Alabama, Alabama State Board of Respiratory Therapy

Alaska, (Not currently regulated in Alaska)

Arizona, Arizona State Board of Respiratory Care Examiners

Arkansas, Arkansas State Medical Board

California *1, Respiratory Care Board of California

Colorado, Colorado Society for Respiratory Care

Connecticut, Connecticut State Department of Public Health

Delaware, Delaware Division of Professional Regulation

District of Columbia (DC), Maryland/District of Columbia Society for Respiratory Care

Florida *2, Florida Board of Respiratory Care

Georgia, Georgia Composite Medical Board

Hawaii, Hawaii Society for Respiratory Care

Idaho, Idaho Board of Medicine

Illinois, Illinois Financial & Professional Regulation

Indiana, Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

Iowa, Iowa Department of Public Health

Kansas, Kansas Respiratory Care Society

Kentucky, Kentucky Board of Respiratory Care

Louisiana, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners

Maine, Maine Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners

Maryland, Maryland/District of Columbia Society for Respiratory Care

Massachusetts, Massachusetts Board of Respiratory Care

Michigan, Michigan Board of Respiratory Care

Minnesota, Minnesota Board of Medical Practice

Mississippi, Mississippi Society for Respiratory Care

Missouri, Missouri Board for Respiratory Care

Montana, Montana Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners

Nebraska, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services

Nevada, Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners

New Hampshire, New Hampshire Respiratory Care Practitioners Governing Board

New Jersey, New Jersey Society for Respiratory Care

New Mexico, New Mexico Society for Respiratory Care

New York, New York State Society for Respiratory Care

North Carolina, North Carolina Respiratory Care Board

North Dakota, North Dakota State Board of Respiratory Care

Ohio, State Medical Board of Ohio

Oklahoma, Oklahoma Respiratory Care Practitioners

Oregon *3, Oregon Respiratory Therapist and Polysomnographic Technologist Licensing Board

Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania Society for Respiratory Care

Rhode Island, State of Rhode Island Department of Health

South Carolina, South Carolina Society for Respiratory Care

South Dakota, South Dakota Society for Respiratory Care

Tennessee, Tennessee Department of Health

Texas, Texas Medical Board

Utah, Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Vermont, Vermont Office of Professional Regulation: Respiratory Care Practitioners

Virginia, Virginia Board of Medicine

Washington, Washington State Department of Health

West Virginia, West Virginia Board of Respiratory Care

Wisconsin, Wisconsin Society for Respiratory Care

Wyoming, Wyoming State Board for Respiratory Care

*1 California: Applicants for employment in California are required to complete a Board-approved Law and Professional Ethics course prior to licensure. The course can be completed either through the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) or the California Society for Respiratory Care (CSRC). The course can be completed online or through a live session provided by the CSRC. Please visit California Requirements for Licensure for additional information. July 2020

*2 Florida: Applicants for employment in Florida are required to complete a Board approved two hour course in medical error prevention. Please visit for more information.

*3 Oregon: Applicants for employment in Oregon must pass the Board approved Respiratory Therapist Oregon Laws and Administrative Rules examination within two years before the date of application. Please visit Application Requirements for more information.

Southeastern Community College has determined its curriculum meets the state educational requirements for licensure in the following states and territories:

Iowa Illinois Missouri
Alabama Maine Ohio
Alaska Maryland Oklahoma
Arizona Massachusetts Oregon
Arkansas Michigan Pennsylvania
California Minnesota Rhode Island
Colorado Mississippi South Carolina
Connecticut Montana South Dakota
Delaware Nebraska Tennessee
Florida Nevada Texas
Georgia New Hampshire Utah
Hawaii New Jersey Vermont
Idaho New Mexico Virginia
Indiana New York Washington
Kansas North Carolina West Virginia
Kentucky North Dakota  Wisconsin
Louisiana   Wyoming
District of Columbia
(Washington DC)

This credential meets the licensure requirements in all states except Alaska. Licensure requirements has not been determined in Alaska because licensure is not currently regulated.

Southeastern Community College has determined its curriculum does not meet the state educational requirements for licensure in the following states:


Southeastern Community College has not made a determination that its curriculum meets the state educational requirements for licensure or certification in the following states and territories:

American Samoa Guam Puerto Rico
  Northern Mariana Islands US Virgin Islands